Featured Shops

Featured Shop: OnceUponATimeDaniela

Today we chat with Daniela from OnceUponATimeDaniela

Share a little about yourself … what makes you you?

Baby Dress by UnceUponATimeDaniela
Baby Dress by OnceUponATimeDaniela

I’m Daniela. Born in Italy in 1979.
I am determined and stubborn. I am reliable, and self-disciplined. I am bold, independent, inquisitive and interested in research. I know what I want and why I want it…. On the other side I’m very sensitive and emotional too.
Afraid of heights but I love climbing mountains
Fascinated by the mysteries of the universe
I hate phones and my television is always off…. the exception is to watch movies and documentaries.

What inspired you to create your business and how long have you been trading for?

Five years ago or so, I found out that it is difficult for me to have babies. Making little baby’s clothes helped and it’s still helping my soul… In October 2013 I opened my shop.

Why did you choose the name you did for your business?

Do you Remember the fairy tales of long long time ago? They are always starting with “Once upon a time…” It’s a start full of hope!
Once upon a time Daniela… it’s a fairy tale of my life… A story of love, hope, research, difficulty, fatigue…

Swan Pillow by OnceUponATimeDaniela
Swan Pillow by OnceUponATimeDaniela

What do you sell and what sets them apart from other similar items on the market?

On my Etsy shop I sell baby/toddler clothes and unusual pillow decor.
I reckon my shop is not for “commercial taste of mind”.
Some of my items are very unusual to see on babies… But I’m sure my products will not die with the fashion seasons… They will be that special OOAK item for life, to treasure .. to pass through the ages from mum to daughter.

If you could achieve anything you could imagine what would your greatest dream for your business be?

No compromise on quantity versus quality…. I m not money greedy… I’m healthy soul greedy.

Where do you work on your business, and what platforms are you using to sell from (both online or offline)?

I set up one of my spare home room as my private studio.

If you were starting again now what would you do differently?

This is like a paradox. Imagine two parallel worlds… 2 different ways taken from the same person… Two different lives that you can never know and judge right or wrong.
They are only choices.

What is the most useful thing you have learned?

Sharing knowledge. It’s wonderful to learn everyday something new and know that someone learns from you.

Apart from your shop, what else inspires you?

It could be anything! From a chat with a stranger to a look at the sky.

Swan Pillow by OnceUponATimeDaniela
Swan Pillow by OnceUponATimeDaniela

If you could inspire the world with a quote, what would it be?

“E quando poi davanti a te si apriranno tante strade e non saprai quale prendere, non imboccarne una a caso, ma siediti e aspetta. Respira con la profondità fiduciosa con cui hai respirato il giorno in cui sei venuta al mondo, senza farti distrarre da nulla, aspetta e aspetta ancora. Stai ferma, in silenzio, e ascolta il tuo cuore. Quando poi ti parla, alzati e và dove lui ti porta”. Susanna Tamaro.

” And then when in front of you will open many roads and you will not know which one to take , do not take a random one , but sit and wait. Feel confident with the depth with which you breathed the day you came into the world , without being distracted by nothing , wait and wait again . Hold still , silent , and listen to your heart . When he talks to you , get up and go where it takes you . ” Susanna Tamaro .

Where can we find out more about your business?

www.etsy.com/au/shop/OnceUponATimeDaniela
www.facebook.com/onceuponatimedaniela

4 thoughts on “Featured Shop: OnceUponATimeDaniela

  1. Loved reading this Daniela, your bubbly personality shines through as it does it real life. All the best with your wonderful creations, you are so talented and your pieces original and special xxxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

