Featured Shops

Featured Shop: MissMarleyBoutique

Today we chat with Marley from MissMarleyBoutique 

Greeting card by MissMarleyBoutique
Greeting card by MissMarleyBoutique

Share a little about yourself … what makes you you?

I’m Miss Marley, I’m an artist/illustrator and musician. I grew up in a creative home with plenty of music, art and nature to inspire me. I live in sub-tropical Australia by the rainforest with my husband, two sons and little black dog Oliver-Boliver and new puppy Miss Lulu. I am passionate about the environment, art and music and love to have adventures!

What inspired you to create your business and how long have you been trading for?

I opened my Etsy store on the 31st August 2014. I have been manifesting this goal for some time. I have dreamt about processing my designs onto t-shirts and other fabulous products for a long time and I am SO excited to finally be achieving some of my goals (I have so many!) and have an online retail space, which is part of such a fabulous, creative community.

Why did you choose the name you did for your business?

Well…I am Miss Marley – I have often been called Miss Marley by friends and also children I have worked when teaching dance and drama. I would have been just Miss Marley – but the name was taken! So I added boutique as there’s a range of gorgeous Miss Marley items.

T-shirt by MissMarleyBoutique
Crop Top by MissMarleyBoutique

What do you sell and what sets them apart from other similar items on the market?

Everyone has a different take on life – this diversity is magical! So my Miss Marley magic adds to the mix 😉
I like to think of my products as gorgeous characters, drawn from my Miss Marley mind that are ready for an adventure! They are a companion to the customer – an entity of whimsy and fun!
My products are ethically and sustainably sourced where possible. They include t-shirts, pillow cases, tea towels and greeting cards. I will have prints and other gorgeous products available soon.
I hand screen print these in my gorgeous, crooked wooden house using water based inks. I draw my designs, expose screens myself and then print away!
Most of my t-shirts are organic cotton (save the bees!) and all are ethically made (sweat shop free). One line of t-shirts are carbon neutral – as I believe we are all responsible for making the world a more fair and fabulous place to be!

If you could achieve anything you could imagine what would your greatest dream for your business be?

Anything? I would love to have my Miss Marley pieces all over the world! To be able to make a living out of it – to do it every day! I would love to collaborate with other artists and develop my product range to include other unique pieces. To continually grow, explore and evolve my creative business and to inspire others to do the same.

MissMarleyBoutique
Pillowcase by MissMarleyBoutique

Where do you work on your business, and what platforms are you using to sell from (both online or offline)?

I work on my business from home. I have just started to do a few local markets and aim to have my pieces stocked in a variety of retail spaces over the next few months. My goal is to do all three – sell online, markets and gorgeous retail outlets.

If you were starting again now what would you do differently?

I feel like I am just starting out in a lot of ways so it’s all been a bit trial and error so far! I would say though to just be brave, don’t procrastinate and treat every experience as an opportunity to learn and grow. Also, don’t wait to have everything ‘perfect’ – keep working at it and bust it out!

What is the most useful thing you have learned?

That designing, manufacturing and selling your own products requires many processes in each of those areas. It takes time, hard work and commitment – and it’s important to breathe, have gratitude and FUN!

Apart from your shop, what else inspires you?

Music! Playing (drums), writing and listening to music. I am at my happiest when listening to music and drawing or playing music. I am inspired by my sons (aged 8 and 11) who are amazing artists and by my husband and family who are all creative, supportive and amazing people! Other artists and nature provide me with endless inspiration and I love connecting with both.

If you could inspire the world with a quote, what would it be?

“Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in” (Leonard Cohen)

Where can we find out more about your business?

Instagram – instagram.co/missmarleyboutique

Etsy – www.etsy.com/au/shop/MissMarleyBoutique

Pinterest – www.pinterest.com/marley0294/

Website – www.missmarley.com.au

4 thoughts on “Featured Shop: MissMarleyBoutique

Leave a Reply

