Featured Shops

Featured Shop: ColourscapeStudios

Today we chat with Kelly from ColourscapeStudios

She Stood In The Storm, Inspirational print by ColourscapeStudios
She Stood In The Storm, Inspirational print by ColourscapeStudios

Share a little about yourself โ€ฆ what makes you you?

My name is Kelly. I have my wonderful fiance Adam (who also sells on Etsy in his handmade jewellery business), and we have a gorgeous 2 year old daughter, who goes by the nickname of Squish and a grumpy 10 year old black cat, Shelly. I’m the definitive Leo.. I am loyal, protective, and will stand up for what I believe in whether that makes me popular or not ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m the 2IC of the Wandarrah’s, a role I’ve been doing for quite a while now and I love it ๐Ÿ˜€ It gives me the warm fuzzies knowing I’m getting to help and support a wonderful group of makers!

What inspired you to create your business and how long have you been trading for?

I originally started my first Etsy store many years ago making terrible beaded jewellery. I only sold 2 items before realising it just wasn’t for me. I came back to Etsy in 2011 as Colourscape, selling my photographic art. After having Squish in 2012, Adam and I couldn’t find a typography print we liked for Squish’s room, and so in late 2012, Colourscape Prints was born. Adam stepped out of Colourscape Prints in 2013, and at the start of 2014, I merged the two stores and rebranded as Colourscape Studios.

Why did you choose the name you did for your business?

Colourscape was a pretty easy choice for my business, the photographic work I sold was mainly Colourful Landscapes/Seascapes/Cityscapes so we merged the two words. When we created the Prints shop, we kept the colourful theme going so it was a natural progression of the name to re-brand to Studios, as I work in several genres.

Start each day with a grateful heart, Inspirational quote by ColourscapeStudios
Start each day with a grateful heart, Inspirational quote by ColourscapeStudios

What do you sell and what sets them apart from other similar items on the market?

I sell typography prints, digital illustrations and photographic prints, and what sets me apart from the others is that my shop is always bright and colourful. I don’t work in the same old black and white you see from many others, and when you see my prints pop up in searches, you can tell straight away it’s my shop.

If you could achieve anything you could imagine what would your greatest dream for your business be?

My greatest dream for my business is that I can build my brand and lines offered to the point where I am able to work full time within the business and not rely on income from any other job.

Where do you work on your business, and what platforms are you using to sell from (both online or offline)?

Adam and I share an office in our home, it’s the spare bedroom ๐Ÿ˜€ I used to do handmade markets but these days I only sell online via Etsy, Madeit and occasionally through my social media’s.

If you were starting again now what would you do differently?

Well for one I would’ve started the prints shop a lot sooner than we did! I’ve found that it’s become as much fun sitting down and creating the prints as it is to get out and photograph the world ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d have also focused more on the SEO of my business from the beginning and taken the advice given to me from one of the ladies in the forums who said I should look into diversifying my range so I had different price points. For too long I only had the one price point in my online store yet had many for my market stall.

Good Mums Let You Lick The Beaters, Funny Quote by ColourscapeStudios
Good Mums Let You Lick The Beaters, Funny Quote by ColourscapeStudios

What is the most useful thing you have learned?

The most useful thing I’ve learned on this journey is how networking can really help or hinder (in a few not so great instances) your business. I’m glad I had a good and bad experiences with this as I now know what to look out for, but also realise that sometimes the best working relationships and friendships are made with those you don’t expect.

Apart from your shop, what else inspires you?

I’m inspired by the world. As a photographer I’m always looking at the little details people pass by without even noticing… I’m big on textures ๐Ÿ˜€ As a print-maker I love to see how words make people feel, especially when it inspires them to be the best they can be.

If you could inspire the world with a quote, what would it be?

The quote I have as my life motto these days is “She stood in the storm, and when the wind did not blow her way, she adjusted her sails.” I only stumbled across it recently but it really has resonated within me.

Where can we find out more about your business?

You can find me on:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/ColourscapeStudios
Instagram: @colourscapestudios
Twitter: @colourscape
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/KelColourscape/

6 thoughts on “Featured Shop: ColourscapeStudios

Leave a Reply

