Featured Shops

Featured Shop: AnnaCullArt

Today we chat with Anna from AnnaCullArt

Share a little about yourself … what makes you you?

Fly By, by AnnaCullArt
Fly By, by AnnaCullArt

If it’s creative, count me in: drawing, painting, photography, crafts. I work from home as an artist/graphic designer and I’m a passionate WordPress blogger too. I also spend quite a bit of time singing with my husband, who plays guitar, and we perform whenever we get the chance. It’s great fun and the perfect antidote to being alone in the studio all day.

What inspired you to create your business and how long have you been trading for?

I went to art school in 2010 to take what was meant to be a six-month foundation course just for fun, a treat after a particularly difficult year, but art and design became what I wanted to do with my life (something I’d been trying to figure out for 45 years) and so I stayed for another two years. That’s where I got into the habit of drawing and painting every day. Then family and friends started buying my paintings, which was completely unexpected and very encouraging. I began selling my artwork online last year.

Why did you choose the name you did for your business?

It’s my name plus the word ‘art’. It just made sense for my name to be my business name too.

Lighthouse by AnnaCullArt
Lighthouse by AnnaCullArt

What do you sell and what sets them apart from other similar items on the market?

I sell acrylic paintings on canvas as well as ink and watercolour drawings. What sets them apart is that they are my originals — unique impressions of my neighbourhood, my city (Christchurch) and the places I visit. I’ve chosen not to sell printed copies of my paintings because you can’t really capture texture and brush strokes in a print. You’re much better off with an original!

If you could achieve anything you could imagine what would your greatest dream for your business be?

I would love to be earning a living from my art. Not that I’m doing it for the money… it’s just that money makes it possible to be making art, and that’s become really important to me.

Where do you work on your business, and what platforms are you using to sell from (both online or offline)?

I work from home in what used to be the spare bedroom. It’s perfect because it’s the sunniest room in the house. I sell my art on Etsy and through my blog. I sometimes participate in local craft markets. My paintings are also going to be for sale at the Christchurch Art Show in June.

Cathedral Junction by AnnaCullArt
Cathedral Junction by AnnaCullArt

If you were starting again now what would you do differently?

I don’t think I’ve been doing this long enough to be able to answer that question. Ask me again in another couple of years.

What is the most useful thing you have learned?

To trust myself and not to get discouraged by bad days — because good days always follow.

Apart from your shop, what else inspires you?

I’m inspired by landscapes, architecture, history, light, textiles, colour, laughter, the night sky, trees, kindness, music, birds, clouds, love, the talent of other people, honesty, dreams.

If you could inspire the world with a quote, what would it be?
“Let it go. Let it out.
Let it all unravel.
Let it free and it can be
A path on which to travel”
Michael Leunig

Where can we find out more about your business?

www.annacull.com
www.etsy.com/shop/AnnaCullArt
www.facebook.com/annacullart

4 thoughts on “Featured Shop: AnnaCullArt

Leave a Reply

