Featured Shops

Featured Shop: Deedeedeesigns

Today we chat with Dawn from DeeDeeDeesigns.

1. Share a little about yourself … what makes you you?

Ceramic Bangle Stack by DeeDeeDeesigns.
Ceramic Bangle Stack by DeeDeeDeesigns.

I was always crafty’ as a kid, and to a degree it was encouraged…. but when it came to schooling I was not encouraged to pursue art, but rather ‘proper’ academic subjects.

So, it has been in later life that I rediscovered myself in art and creativity. I enrolled in a pottery class when my youngest was about 2yrs old and have been going ever since!

2. What inspired you to create your business and how long have you been trading for?

I joined Etsy in 2010 out of curiosity but did nothing with the shop – I was mainly creating sculpture and exhibiting back then and felt my work was not a good fit with Etsy.

Then in late 2011 I had an accident and severed my finger, putting me out of action for a while. As my finger slowly recovered I was able to make smaller things, so began making beads and pendants and small handmade dishes – this is how I came to stock my Etsy shop. And since then I have continued making this range as well as continuing to make sculpture.

3. Why did you choose the name you did for your business?

Well, in 2009 I graduated with a PhD in Fine Arts and my partner nicknamed me DD (Dr Dawn), so when it came to naming the store it was an obvious choice.

4. What do you sell and what sets them apart from other similar items on the market?

I make and sell ceramic jewellery and tableware, and original art greeting cards.

Dawn in the studio.
Dawn in the studio.

All of my creations are made by me in my studio, so all are original and unique designs, glazed in colours I mix myself – so a one of a kind piece of home art or wearable art is guaranteed.

I also make jewellery from upcycled components, especially buttons, which come from my years old collection and I like to combine the recycled parts with the clay beads and pendants as well.

5. If you could achieve anything you could imagine what would your greatest dream for your business be?

I guess being able to make a steady living from it which would mean alot more sales! But I suppose that’s what everybody wants!

Seeing some celebrities wearing my jewellery would be cool too!

6. Where do you work on your business, and what platforms are you using to sell from (both online or offline)?

I am lucky enough to live in a rural area with lots of room, so I have two

Ceramic Mugs from DeeDeeDesigns.
Ceramic Mugs from DeeDeeDesigns.

studio spaces! A studio separate to the house where my wheels, kilns, glazes and large bench areas are, and studio inside the house where I assemble jewellery and do alot of painting and drawing and writing.

I sell online through Etsy and MadeIt, and try to put work in retail spaces whenever I can. I don’t do markets…. I have in the past and am always disappointed.

7. If you were starting again now what would you do differently?

As far as the Etsy shop goes I would probably do a bit more research about photos and SEO and all that background stuff … more broadly than that I’m sure…. I have always just floated along. I have been a full time practicing artist now for twenty years, so it is just a way of life for me now.

8. What is the most useful thing you have learned?

Getting up out of bed every day!!

But apart from that, just to get on with it and not worry about what others are doing – don’t compare yourself because its not about who is doing what or who is better than who, because everyone is just doing their thing and everyone does it differently.

9. Apart from your shop, what else inspires you?

Sculptural work by DeeDeeDesigns.
Sculptural work by DeeDeeDesigns.

I love nature and travel and reading and writing, and a good foreign or art house movie.

10. If you could inspire the world with a quote, what would it be?

“Don’t think. Thinking is the enemy of creativity. It’s self-conscious, and anything self-conscious is lousy. You can’t try to do things. You simply must do things” – Ray Bradbury

11. Where can we find out more about your business?

Blog: dawnwhitehand.wordpress.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/deedeedeesignsaustralia
Twitter: www.twitter.com/deedeedeesigns
Google+: plus.google.com/u/0/+DawnWhitehand
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/dawnwhitehand

3 thoughts on “Featured Shop: Deedeedeesigns

Leave a Reply

