Featured Shops

International Mountain Day – December 11th

Covering around 27 percent of the earth’s land surface, mountains play a critical role in moving the world towards sustainable economic growth. They not only provide sustenance and wellbeing to 720 million mountain people around the world, but indirectly benefit billions more living downstream.

Find out more about International Mountain Day here:www.un.org/en/events/mountainday/

So I asked if team members had items in their shop to celebrate, and here’s what they had to say:

Carolyn from SmallHungryHeart says

What makes it special is it’s its size – at 2.5 inch square, it’s a piece of micro mini original art!
I’ve been toying around with abstract landscapes for a while now and mountains and rolling hills are what i love to include. Being so immense, they are literally awesome. Also, i love that phrase from Pride and Prejudice (“What are men to rocks and mountains?”). And of course New Zealand ala Lord of the Rings. Wow i just realised they feature a lot in other things i love! LOL

il_570xN.875363709_4x9o

Christine McConnell from ARTDECADENCE says

This digital painting was inspired by the words of Nelson Mandela
‘There is no easy walk to freedom anywhere,and many of us will have to pass through the valley of the shadow of death again and again before we reach the mountaintop of our desires.’
On his robe is painted the valley and mountains surrounding his hometown of Qunu. Here sits too the South African flag.

il_570xN.472687174_b7os

Meg from TigsTogs says

This beautiful photo was taken near Mt Solitary in the Blue Mountains in NSW. My son-in-law captured a great shot of Alex wearing HIS beanie made from merino wool I bought from Nundle Woollen Mill in the Northern Tablelands. I added the pom pom to a crochet pattern I found on Ravelry to make the beanie great for mountain skiing or snow boarding too.
il_570xN.824810034_dnla

This botanical photograph of frost covered foliage was taken on Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. The plant is called Lobelia deckenii, which is the only alpine species of lobelia found on this mountain.

il_570xN.791188639_5vnm

This product is a ceramic jug that has grassy mountains inscribed on it. I live up in the Mountain ranges of Kinglake and are constantly inspired by what is around me. I love mountains covered in trees, but I also love seeing green hills and high country grasslands. This piece is quite simple but I hope conveys a feeling of being up in the mountains and feeling wild and free.

il_570xN.851142757_lm9n

Ineke de Vries from InekedeVries says

When my daughters were little we used to read a children’s book named:” Where the Forest meets the sea”, by Jeannie Baker, published in 1987. It is a beautifully illustrated children’s book about
a young boy visiting a tropical rain forest and pretending it is a long time ago and that extinct and rare animals live in the forest. But he wonders how much longer will the rainforest remain.
When years later my daughter moved to Cairns and I visited her, the tropical coast and forested mountain range North of Cairns, immediately reminded me of this book.
This print is inspired by this book.

il_570xN.884420646_aqb4

Kelly from ColourscapeStudios says

One of my favourite drives is up into the Glasshouse Mountains, and I always head to my favourite spot to sit, relax and breathe in the beautiful fresh air. This print was inspired by several of the walks around the range, where you can see some of the mountains lined as I have recreated on my print.

il_570xN.832110279_30yf

New Zealand’s Southern Alps stretch for 500 km down the South Island, so it’s hardly surprising that, living in Canterbury, mountains feature quite a lot in my art. I never get tired of painting them.

This card is a print of one of my landscape paintings: the alps in the background and an abstract depiction of the Canterbury Plains in the foreground.

il_570xN.835948611_evzc

I’ve been living in the blue mountains of NSW for two years. My family came here regularly on holidays when I was a kid – we did lots of bush walking. The series of drawings that are currently listed in my etsy shop were completed during the first year after I settled here.

I had just returned from a trip to India (which by the way has mountains unlike anything here) and was undertaking a meditation course. I was meditating for long periods each day and was able to do so because I was finally enjoying a quieter life with more space – a dream come true, so grateful.

I did this particular drawing towards the end of winter. It’s form is reminiscence of the rock formations in the valleys here:

il_570xN.865318674_8gqu

WOW – what a fantabulous collection – if you or family or friends are into mountains, then this is the gift list for you!!

2 thoughts on “International Mountain Day – December 11th

Leave a Reply

