Featured Shops

Featured Shop: ARTDECADENCE

Happy Friday friends!

Each Friday – starting today – we’re going to be featuring sellers who participate in a treasury challenge we’ve started on the Australian Wandarrah team. Each week we give our teamies a loose theme and then see what gorgeousness they can dig up from within our very large and varied membership!

Christine from ARTDECADENCE has been with the Wandarrah’s for quite a long time now, and she creates digital art pieces that you are able to instantly download, and print on whatever you’d like. Her shop is full of light, energy and colour, and so without further ado, I’ll get on with the feature!

Chrisy - ARTDECADENCE 2

Can you please tell us a little about yourself and about your Etsy journey so far?

I’ve learned that selling means adapting continually. When I started on Etsy I wanted to make digital images that uplifted/inspired women, but alas, nobody bought them! Then one day I used a Frida image as a basis for a work and it kept on selling so a new direction began. Up until 12 months ago I sold prints, printed them and posted them out to buyers. I made more money that way but life got in the way and I didn’t have the time to do that anymore so now I just sell the digital images. And although I make less money on Etsy, I’ve made more money overall with digital images being licensed to various stores and companies. However, I don’t see my art as a ‘career’; it’s just something I do because I enjoy it and doing it makes me feel calmer and happier. It’s meditation to me as I’m lost in the moment. My ‘career’ is in psychology / health.

What was the inspiration behind your treasury?

‘Her heart warmed the cooler days…’ was I suppose a message to myself as well as others, that even though at times life can seen cold, lonely and sad, if we keep coming back to gratitude for what we have and keep a loving heart, it doesn’t matter what the ‘weather’ of life throws at us we can remain centered, knowing that the storms will pass and the sun will come out again.

Chrisy - ARTDECADENCE 1

 What is the thing you enjoy most about winter?

Clothes! I love doing the layering thing, love boots and jackets and scarves and out there wigs. And I love that cosy feeling of being safe inside my home with people I love looking out at the wild weather. Oh, and open fires!

What is the thing you least enjoy about winter?

I don’t like not being able to open all my windows and doors to let the fresh air in and I hate the biting westerly winds we get in these parts.

Chrisy - ARTDECADENCE 3

Outside of making/sourcing your product, what do you do for fun?

It’s hard to know where to start with this question. I love to ‘play’, to laugh, to eat, to drink with my lover, friends, family. Swimming. Walking. Running. Reading. Watching Movies.

Do you have any favourite team members that you’d like to share for everyone to check out?

I have sooo many favorites, but here’s a few –
www.etsy.com/au/shop/wimcee because her work is always colorful and uplifting.

www.etsy.com/au/shop/PersephonesBijoux One of my favorite necklaces, in blue velvet, came from here.

www.etsy.com/au/shop/Dellamorteco Love the heart vase I purchased from here.

www.etsy.com/au/shop/annehopkins Anne’s free-form crochet reminds me there are many more art projects I want to do!

***

Have you got a favourite Etsy shop (or ten)?? Let us know in the comments below!

 

One thought on “Featured Shop: ARTDECADENCE

Leave a Reply

