Featured Sellers

August Birthstone – Peridot and Spinel.

August is the latest month to claim two birthstones; Peridot and Spinel. Peridot, with it’s signature lime green colour, is believed to instill power and influence in the wearer. Spinel is available in a brilliant range of colours and is believed to protect the owner from harm and soothe away sadness.

I asked team members if they had items in their shop that capture Peridot or Spinel and that would make great gifts for August birthdays. The response was so great that they are going to be spread over two posts…. here is part one 🙂

These book page markers feature lampwork glass beads in a choice of either the lime green of peridot or the bright red of Spinel.
They would make a lovely inexpensive gift for a friend or loved one.

il_570xN.827839153_tjeh

I’ve recently created some new limited edition original drawings on post it notes. This colour combination features a good dash of lime. Anyone for birthday mohitos? 🙂

il_570xN.1030919383_574h

Ina from InaSudjana says

Here’s my peridot elephant bag charm.
I made this in collaboration with a lovely fellow Australian Etsy-an. Apart from being utterly cute, it can be made personalised with your initial at the back. Practical & such Happy colour!

il_570xN.773666998_n4p9

This Beautiful Old Brooch bears Peridot colouring in the Natural Moss Green Agate.

il_570xN.900108727_eqep

Meg from TigsTogs says

Spinel is available in a wide range of colours including my favourite – red ! So what better gift for an August birthday than this chunky knitted infinity scarf and beanie in wonderfully warm wool . Guaranteed to brighten up your day and keep you warm .

il_570xN.931189192_b8sz

Here is my splash of Peridot which is so reminds me of my favourite summer beverage, Vodka Lime and Soda.
I’m sure I can hear the ice blocks clinking in the glass as I enjoy the citrus tones of this long silk and viscose nuno felted scarf.

il_570xN.993441668_654o

The bright green palm leaves are uplifting like the peridot and contrast so well with the red spinel coloured flowers.

il_570xN.1016284735_7add

Spinel certainly does come in lots of colours. I think several of them are in my new multi yarn scarf.

il_570xN.1041424055_6jmb

The bright lime green and rose colour earrings are great for the birthday gift.

il_570xN.995338724_sw8v

This glasses case with a velcro closure incorporates the colours of Peridot and Spinel in the retro psychedelic fabrics I have used.
You won’t lose your glasses at home or in your bag with this easily-seen case!

il_570xN.942623756_nip7

Lime green is a feature of this jungle/safari themed birth stats print. I originally designed this to celebrate the birth of a friend’s baby boy Alexander, then changed a few details and added it to my shop.
It’s a beautiful gift for parents or grandparents as a special record of baby’s birth.

il_570xN.1020200027_gp91

My handmade lime green Nuno Felted jacket has been stitched then hand-dyed. It matches the Birthstone colour of Peridot. I am a red-head so from an early age this has always been my favourite colour.

il_570xN.855685387_tn8c

Hows that for some fabulous August gift ideas? Stay tuned for part two coming up next Monday 🙂

4 thoughts on “August Birthstone – Peridot and Spinel.

  1. How exciting to be included in this blog. Thank you Dawn, this is a great feature for the month of August and my hand-felted and hand-dyed Feltnitnstitch jacket.

    My model’s face reflects the power as from the Peridot Birthstone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful collection of gorgeous Peridot and Spinel coloured items! Very flattered to have my jungle themed birth stats prints included among such talented artists.

    Like

Leave a Reply

